Ani and Kimmy Gutierrez Dance Moms Miami

Ani is a working mother of two daughters and never having taken a dance class herself, only her daughter Kimmy is currently enrolled at Stars Dance Studio. From a very young age Kimmy wanted dance lessons on her own — two of the first things she asked for as a young child were ballet shoes and a tutu.

A resident of Miami and raised in the Hispanic culture, Ani believes Miami’s beauty is insurmountable primarily because of the diversity in people and cultures. She notes, “Maybe I’m biased because I am Hispanic, but I think Miami’s Latin ‘Salsa’ adds a little extra spice to our dance culture.”

Ani Gutierrez Dance Moms MiamiAbout Ani

Ani’s favorite style of dance to watch:
I enjoy watching ballroom dancing. I am also a big fan of contemporary numbers and loves the performance aspect of it.

What are your hobbies and interests besides dance?
I’m a homebody and love all things home; gardening, home repairs, organizing, decorating, etc. I enjoy crafting and scrapbooking but rarely have time for it. I’m a big movie buff.

What do you think your child is learning most about while competing in dance competitions around the country?
I think the out-of-state competitions provide Kimmy with a broader perspective of the dance world. Seeing how many great dancers are out there proves humbling at the very least.

What have you learned most about while being involved with this dance company and traveling to the competitions?
I’ve realized that this is a family endeavor and that everyone needs to be on board for it to work. I’ve also had the opportunity to witness the extent of Kimmy’s commitment to dance. I knew she was a hard-working, driven little girl but the joy with which she does it has proven inspiring. It makes all the sacrifices well worth it.

Kimmy Gutierrez Dance Moms MiamiAbout Kimmy

Favorite style of dance to perform?
My favorite style of dance is lyrical because I prefer slow and graceful technique.

Favorite style of dance to watch?
I like to watch funny, jazzy numbers.

Do you hope to be a professional dancer one day?
Yes, my goal is to be a professional dancer one day.

If you don’t end up being a professional dancer, what other job would you like to have?
I would also be interested in being an actress. My back-up plan is to be a Physical Therapist.

What do you think you are learning about most from this experience and dancing in these competitions around the country?
I’ve seen some different styles of dance that I really liked. I’ve met some kids that were really great dancers.

What's your favorite subject in school?
My favorite subject in school is Science. I especially like learning about the human body.

What's your favorite color?
My favorite color is pink.

What do you like most about living in Miami?
I love the beaches, the warm sunny days and it’s where all the people I love live.

<< Return to the cast page!