After Sarina accompanied a neighbor to dance class, Sharon could tell her daughter was hooked. Sharon is very supportive of her daughter’s dance career and her husband is right there with her and even takes on the title of "Dance Dad." Sharon’s goal for her daughter is that she has as many opportunities to excel as possible and ultimately she wants her daughter to do what she wants so she’ll be happy. Her advice to Sarina for "Abby’s Ultimate Dance Competition" is to do her best and be good to her fans. Sharon and Sarina currently reside in California.

About Sharon

What's your favorite style of dance to watch?
Lyrical.

What's your occupation?
I was the Assistant Vice President at a large, urban university for 25 years. Currently, I consult for higher education institutions.

What are your hobbies and interests besides dance?
My interests/hobbies are my family primarily my children and supporting and furthering their careers. I play piano and I’m learning to play the banjo. I like to exercise. I was a competitive long distance runner and cyclist for many years. I enjoy making hair bows, sewing and crafts.

Would you call yourself a "Dance Mom," "stage mom" or "mom-manager"?
I am a mom-manager. I am inspired by Sarina’s determination, intellect, incredible work ethic and amazing talent. I help her in any way possible. I try to be a good role model for her and teach her how to use her gifts to be a role model for others. The "Abby’s Ultimate Dance Competition" platform will help further her aspirations and to help others.

About Sarina

What's your favorite style of dance to perform?
Lyrical.

What's your favorite style of dance to watch?
Lyrical.

Do you hope to be a professional dancer one day?
I hope to stay in the dance industry as a choreographer and I would like to teach dance to children who have limited resources. I’ve already starred in a dance video to raise money to help children with serious health issues.

If you don’t end up being a professional dancer, what other job would you like to have?
I aspire to be an Orthopedic Surgeon specializing in female athletes.

What's your favorite subject in school?
My favorite subject is math.

What's your favorite color?
My favorite color is coral.

What do you think you are learning about the most from this experience?
I am learning how to become a complete person. It is easier for me to convey my message with all of my dance experience. I am learning how to influence people and how to reach them with my thoughts and inspirations—either through dance or through words. I’m more open to meeting new people and I’m more self-confident. I’ve become a stronger leader. I am learning how to excel in a highly competitive world. I’m learning how to win and lose gracefully. I’m learning how to compromise and negotiate. I’m learning how to work hard and that hard work pays off most of the time. I’m learning more about the needs of others. I’m learning about making a difference in the world. I’m learning that I’m a role model and that people admire and look up to me so that I need to be careful about what I do and say. I’m learning that I love to dance and competing. I’m learning that even though entertainment industry is complex and turns on a whim; my integrity remains firm.

» view Sarina's dance and baby pictures